Skip to main content
Contactless payment

Faster payment processes at the POS

With your EVO card payment terminal you can now also make payments with contactless cards. This means you are well prepared for the future and save time with every payment transaction. More and more customers are already using contactless payment and every day they are getting more and more.

fast

Payments are possiblewith just one hand movement – easy and convenient in less than 1 second

comfortable

Your customers pay amounts of up to 25 euros without PIN or signature

easy

Payments are made securely via NFC (Near Field Communication)

safe

Of course, contactless cards can still be used with chip and PIN or chip and signature

How is a contactless card used?

Your customer simply holds the contactless Mastercard or Visa card to the reader of your EVO card payment terminal, which displays this icon. The successful payment will then be confirmed on the display and you will receive your customer and dealer receipt as usual. A customer's signature or PIN entry is only required if requested by the EVO card payment terminal. As a rule, transactions of up to EUR 50 (depending on the card issuer, sometimes up to EUR 25) do not require a PIN or an additional signature.


With contactless payment, you are already well prepared for future payment procedures such as ApplePay, Android Pay and Samsung Pay, which are also based on the NFC (Near Field Communication) principle.

Can I also accept girocard contactless cards?

girocard contactless cards can as well as mobile girocards (e.g. with apps) can be accepted by all terminals.

How secure is contactless payment?

Contactless payment offers you the full security of the established EMV chip technology. The communication between EVO card payment terminal and card is carried out via Near Field Communication (NFC) technology. Communication is only possible if the card is held very close to the EVO card payment terminal (maximum distance of 4 cm). This excludes accidental payments. The card must also be uniquely identifiable. It is not possible to hold several cards at the same time to the contactless card reader and thus make a payment.

How do I recognize a contactless card?

Pay attention to this symbol on the card. More and more cards in Germany, Europe and worldwide are equipped with the contactless payment function and make it easier for you to pay at the point of sale:

 

Where can I find further information?

Learn more about contactless payment with Mastercard:  Mastercard contactless
Learn more about contactless payment with Visa: Contactless payments with Visa

 

PSD2 - Strong Customer Authentication (SCA)

Risk of unexpected declines of contactless bank cards after 14th September

14th of September is the deadline for the implementation of Strong Customer Authentication (SCA) for debit and credit card transactions. This is part of the Second Payment Services Directive (PSD2) about which we have previously written to you. While delays have been agreed for certain aspects of SCA under current provisions Cardholders will still need to input their PIN either after every five contactless transactions or if the total value of contactless transactions exceeds 150 euro since they last used a PIN from the 14th of September.

The payment terminal should prompt the cardholder to enter their PIN when needed but it’s possible that some contactless bankcards may generate a “transaction rejected, use another reader or card” message instead. We don’t know how often this will happen as it depends on whether any particular issuer has updated their cards for the new rules.

Our advice to you is not to worry because there is a solution you can use to address this situation and the cardholder can still pay with their card by following this simple procedure. If the terminal shows the “transaction rejected, use another card or reader” message, just ask the cardholder to insert the same contactless bank card into the payment terminal and to do a standard Chip & PIN transaction. This should allow the transaction to proceed provided the customer has sufficient funds in their account.

Apple Pay transactions are unaffected and will work normally. However, in the rare example of a customer receiving this message after trying to pay with a wearable device such as a Fitbit, they would need to pay with a physical card. As mentioned above, we don’t know how many of your transactions will be affected in this way as it depends on how quickly your customers’ cards are updated by their issuing banks. We recommend that you explain the solution to all staff that take payments from the public and be ready to deal with this situation as it arises.

A quick and helpful overview of how to operate your terminal can be found here:

"First aid" for merchants

Questions & Answers

Cardholders should be prompted to input their PIN after every five contactless transactions or if they have made 150 euro of contactless transactions since they last inputted their PIN.

No. We expect issuers to rollout new cards (with the counting feature) as existing cards expire. This may take some months or years to replace every card in the market.

The payment terminal should prompt the cardholder to input their PIN. However, in the early stages there is a risk that the transaction is simply rejected instead with a “transaction rejected, use another reader or card” message.

Just ask the cardholder to insert their card in the payment terminal and do a standard chip & PIN transaction. This will work provided the customer has funds in their account.

We don’t know. It depends on the speed at which issuers update their cards.

Yes, these transactions are already authenticated by the user’s biometric data so don’t count towards the new contactless limits.

There may be an issue with some wearable payment devices (eg Fitbits). If one of these devices generates a “transaction rejected, use another reader or card” message, the shopper cannot make a Chip and Pin transaction and will need to use a physical card instead.

All parties are moving as quickly as they can towards a complete solution and we will communicate any relevant changes as soon as they are ready for implementation.

Zum Hauptinhalt springen
Kontaktloses Bezahlen

Schnellere Bezahlvorgänge an der Kasse

Mit Ihrem EVO Payments Kartenzahlungsterminal können Sie jetzt auch Zahlungen mit kontaktlosen Karten durchführen. Damit sind Sie bestens für die Zukunft vorbereitet und sparen Zeit bei jedem Bezahlvorgang. Immer mehr Kunden nutzen bereits kontaktloses Bezahlen und jeden Tag werden es mehr.

Schnell

Zahlungen sind mit nur einer Handbewegung möglich – das ist einfach und bequem und dauert weniger als eine Sekunde

Bequem

Beträge von bis zu 25 Euro zahlen Ihre Kunden bequem ohne PIN oder Unterschrift

Einfach

Zahlungen werden sicher über NFC (Near Field Communication) vorgenommen

Sicher

Selbstverständlich können kontaktlosfähige Karten auch weiterhin mit Chip und PIN oder Chip und Unterschrift genutzt werden

Wie wird eine kontaktlosfähige Karte benutzt?

Ihr Kunde hält die kontaktlosfähige girocard, Mastercard- oder Visa-Karte einfach an das Lesegerät Ihres EVO Kartenzahlungsterminals, auf dem dieses Symbol angezeigt wird. Die erfolgreiche Zahlung wird Ihnen dann auf dem Display bestätigt und Sie erhalten wie gewohnt Ihren Kunden- und Händlerbeleg. Eine Unterschrift oder PIN-Eingabe des Kunden ist nur erforderlich, sofern das EVO Kartenzahlungsterminal dazu auffordert. Im Regelfall erfordern Transaktionen von bis zu 25 EUR keine Eingabe einer PIN oder zusätzliche Unterschrift.

Mit kontaktlosem Bezahlen sind Sie für Bezahlverfahren, wie z.B. ApplePay, Android Pay und Samsung Pay bestens vorbereitet, die ebenfalls auf dem NFC (Near Field Communication) Prinzip basieren.

Kann ich auch girocard kontaktlos Karten akzeptieren?

girocard kontaktlos Karten sowie mobile girocards (z.B. durch Apps) können von allen Kartenzahlungsterminals akzeptiert werden.

Wie sicher ist kontaktloses Bezahlen?

Kontaktloses Bezahlen bietet Ihnen die volle Sicherheit der etablierten EMV-Chip-Technologie. Die Kommunikation zwischen EVO Kartenzahlungsterminal und Karte erfolgt über Nahfunktechnologie (Near Field Communication = NFC). Eine Kommunikation ist nur möglich, sofern die Karte äußerst nah an das EVO Kartenzahlungsterminal gehalten wird (maximal 3-4 cm entfernt). Damit sind versehentliche Zahlungen ausgeschlossen. Außerdem muss die Karte eindeutig identifizierbar sein. Es ist nicht möglich mehrere Karten gleichzeitig an den kontaktlosen Kartenleser zu halten und damit eine Zahlung durchzuführen.

Wie erkenne ich eine kontaktlosfähige Karte?

Achten Sie auf dieses Symbol auf der Karte. Immer mehr Karten in Deutschland, Europa und weltweit werden mit der kontaktlosen Bezahlfunktion ausgestattet und erleichtern Ihnen den Bezahlvorgang am Point of Sale:

Wo finde ich weitere Informationen?

Weitere Informationen zum kontaktlosen Bezahlen von Mastercard: Mastercard Kontaktlos
Weitere Informationen zum kontaktlosen Bezahlen mit Visa-Karten: Kontaktlose Zahlungen mit Visa

PSD2 - Strong Customer Authentication (SCA)

Risiko eines unerwarteten Rückgangs von kontaktlosen Bankkarten nach dem 14. September

Der 14. September ist der Stichtag für die Implementierung von Strong Customer Authentication (SCA) für Debit- und Kreditkartentransaktionen. Während für bestimmte Aspekte von SCA nach den geltenden Bestimmungen ein Aufschub vereinbart wurde, müssen die Karteninhaber ihre PIN entweder nach jeweils fünf kontaktlosen Transaktionen eingeben oder wenn der Gesamtwert der kontaktlosen Transaktionen 150 Euro übersteigt, seit sie zuletzt ab dem 14. September eine PIN verwendet haben. Das Zahlungsterminal sollte den Karteninhaber bei Bedarf zur Eingabe seiner PIN auffordern, aber es ist möglich, dass einige kontaktlose Bankkarten stattdessen eine Nachricht „Transaktion abgelehnt, anderes Lesegerät oder andere Karte verwenden“ erzeugen.

Wir wissen nicht, wie oft dies geschehen wird, da es davon abhängt, ob ein bestimmter Kartenherausgeber seine Karten für die neuen Regeln aktualisiert hat. Wir raten Ihnen, sich keine Sorgen zu machen, denn es gibt eine Lösung für diese Situation, und der Karteninhaber kann auf ganz einfache Art und Weise mit seiner Karte bezahlen: Wenn das Terminal die Meldung „Transaktion abgelehnt, anderes Lesegerät oder andere Karte verwenden“ anzeigt, bitten Sie den Karteninhaber einfach, dieselbe kontaktlose Bankkarte in das Zahlungsterminal einzuführen und eine Standard-Chip-&-PIN-Transaktion durchzuführen. Dies sollte es ermöglichen, die Transaktion fortzusetzen, sofern der Kunde über genügend Guthaben auf seinem Konto verfügt.

Apple Pay-Transaktionen sind davon nicht betroffen und funktionieren normal. In dem seltenen Beispiel, dass ein Kunde diese Nachricht erhält, nachdem er versucht hat, mit einem tragbaren Gerät wie einem Fitbit zu bezahlen, müsste er jedoch mit einer physischen Karte bezahlen. Wie bereits erwähnt, wissen wir nicht, wie viele Ihrer Transaktionen auf diese Weise betroffen sein werden, da es davon abhängt, wie schnell die Karten Ihrer Kunden von ihren Ausgabebanken aktualisiert werden. Wir empfehlen, dass Sie die Lösung allen Mitarbeitern, die Zahlungen von der Öffentlichkeit entgegennehmen, erklären und bereit sind, sich mit dieser Situation auseinanderzusetzen.

Eine schnelle und hilfreiche Übersicht zur Bedienung Ihres Terminals finden Sie hier:

"Erste Hilfe" für Händler

Fragen und Antworten

Die Karteninhaber sollten nach jeweils fünf kontaktlosen Transaktionen zur Eingabe ihrer PIN aufgefordert werden, oder wenn sie seit der letzten Eingabe ihrer PIN kontaktlose Transaktionen im Wert von 150 Euro getätigt haben.

Nein. Wir erwarten von den Kartenherausgebern, dass sie neue Karten (mit der Zählfunktion) herausgeben, wenn die bestehenden Karten auslaufen. Es kann einige Monate oder Jahre dauern, bis alle Karten auf dem Markt ersetzt sind.

Das Zahlungsterminal sollte den Karteninhaber zur Eingabe seiner PIN auffordern. In der Anfangszeit kann es jedoch vorkommen, dass die Transaktion mit der Nachricht „Transaktion abgelehnt, anderes Lesegerät oder andere Karte verwenden“ abgelehnt wird.

Bitten Sie den Karteninhaber einfach, seine Karte in das Zahlungsterminal zu stecken und eine Standard-Chip-&-PIN-Transaktion durchzuführen. Dies funktioniert, vorausgesetzt, der Kunde verfügt über genügend Guthaben auf seinem Konto.

Wir wissen es nicht. Es hängt davon ab, wie zügig die Kartenherausgeber ihre Karten aktualisieren.

Ja, diese Transaktionen sind bereits durch die biometrischen Daten des Benutzers authentifiziert, deshalb zählen Sie nicht zu den neuen Kontaktlos-Limits.

Es kann ein Problem mit einigen tragbaren Zahlungsgeräten (z. B. Fitbits) auftreten. Wenn eines dieser Geräte die Nachricht „Transaktion abgelehnt, anderes Lesegerät oder andere Karte verwenden“ erzeugt, kann der Käufer keine Chip-and-Pin-Transaktion durchführen und muss stattdessen eine physische Karte verwenden.

Alle Beteiligten arbeiten so schnell wie möglich auf eine Komplettlösung hin, und wir werden alle relevanten Änderungen kommunizieren, sobald sie zur Umsetzung bereit sind.